Drexel logo
Search:
 
Collections: Guide to the Women in Medicine Collections

COLLECTIONS

Digital Collections

W/MCP & Women in Medicine
- GUIDE to Collections
- Index
- Collection descriptions
- Finding Aids
- Subject Guides

- College Records
- Photographs
- Alumnae/i Files
- Oral history

Research information
Restricted Materials
Citing the Guide
Copyright
Predecessor institutions

 

Most materials relating to WMC/MCP and Women in Medicine are accessible through the Guide to the Collections, which provides listings and descriptions of the records and collections available for research use. The abstracts represent 80% of the collections relating to the WMC/MCP and Women in Medicine.  The collections are listed and housed by accession number.

The Guide can be accessed through these pages:

  • Index of subjects and personal names
  • College Records - non-current business records of the College and Hospital from 1850 to the present.
  • Browse the Guide through the list of accession descriptions
  • Finding Aids - Some collections have detailed finding aids, some of which will be available online.
  • Search the website - free text search of entire site, including the Guide abstracts.

See below for abbreviations and explanations used in the Guide.

In addition to the Guide, materials are organized in these sections:

For further access, see:

Abbreviations and explanations used in the Guide.

AMWA  - American Medical Women's Association
AWH/S  - American Women's Hospitals/Service
MWIA  - Medical Women's International Association
MCP  - The Medical College of Pennsylvania
WMC  - The Woman's Medical College of Pennsylvania
AHERF - Allegheny Health, Education and Research Foundation
ln. ft.  - Linear foot (feet)
in.  - inches

Brackets and Parentheses

The use of  [brackets]  indicates an incomplete run of materials for the dates represented.
The use of (parentheses) indicates that a significant amount of material is contained within the dates represented.

Citing the Guide to Collections in your work

Should you choose to use any material directly from the Guide, please cite as follows:

The accession number(s), found above the collection description (e.g. Accession 262 or Accession #1992.1); Guide to the Collections, Archives & Special Collections on Women in Medicine & Homeopathy, Drexel University College of Medicine.

Copyright

Copyright to The Guide is held by the Archives.

Copyright to the materials in the collections varies with each collection and the materials within it. While the Archives owns the physical materials, it does not necessarily own the intellectual property rights that allow content to be published. Please consult with an archivist regarding copyright of specific materials.

The Archives is not responsible for copyright infringement. It is the responsibility of the user to determine rightful ownership.

Restricted materials

Collections that are currently RESTRICTED in their entirety to research use do not appear in this Guide.

Manuscript materials of individuals are often deposited under restrictions as to certain use and reproduction.  When restrictions apply, the materials may be used within the Archives and Special Collections but will not be copied.

Back to the Top

Drexel Links: Drexel Home . College of Medicine . Insitute for Women's Health & Leadership . Search
Archives Links: About . Collections . Donations . Fellowship

All rights reserved - Drexel University College of Medicine, Philadelphia, PA

shadow
shadow shadow shadow shadow shadow