Search:
Collections: Guide to the Women in Medicine Collections to Women in Medicine

COLLECTIONS

Digital Collections

W/MCP & Women in Medicine
- GUIDE to Collections
- Guide index
- Collection descriptions
- Finding Aids
- Subject Guides

- College Records
- Image and sound
- Alumnae/i Files
- Oral history

Hahnemann University and History of Homeopathy
- Finding aids

USAGE INFORMATION

Research information
Restricted Materials
Citing the Guide
Copyright
Predecessor institutions

Various collections contain oral histories:

Oral history collection on Woman's Medical College of Pennsylvania, 2003 (Accession 2003.20)

Twelve video oral history interviews with Woman's Medical College of Pennsylvania graduates, faculty and staff. Interviews were conducted in 2003 by Joanne Grossman and TJ Dixon.

  • Barnes, Anne , M.D. (faculty)
  • Bartuska, Doris, M.D. (WMC 1954)
  • Brooks, Brooks, M.D. (WMC 1965)
  • Chick, Barbara, M.D. (WMC 1959)
  • Cohen, D. Walter, D.D.S. - Chancellor Emeritus and former MCP President
  • Forster, Gail - early leader of the National Board of the Woman's Medical College of Pennsylvania.
  • Klinghoffer, June , M.D. (WMC 1945; faculty) - this interview can be viewed online, courtesy of Christof Daetwyler of the TIME (Technology in Medical Education) group at Drexel University College of Medicine.
  • Kroser, Lila, M.D. (WMC 1957)
  • Landau, Burton, Ph.D. (faculty)
  • Polk, Gene-Ann, M.D. (WMC 1952)
  • Schnaufer, Louise, M.D. (WMC 1951)
  • Wood, Margaret Gray , M.D. (WMC 1948)

Oral History Collection on Women in Medicine, 1978 (Accession 31)

Audio recordings, transcripts and support materials of interviews with 44 physicians and medical students. Each transcript is indexed and is introduced by a biographical sketch based on the interview.

  • Some transcripts are online, linked below.
  • Additionally, there is a Catalog and Combined Index to all the transcripts (PDF link, 6MB) of the Collection.
  • Audio reference copies of the interviews are available locally.

  • The project was conducted over a two year period by Carol Fenichel, Cynthia S. Pomerleau, Ph.D., Regina Morantz, Ph.D. and Sarah Burke.

    Individuals interviewed:

    Barnes, Ann , M.D.
    Bartuska, Doris , M.D.
    Benes, Susan , M.D.
    Bennet, Maxine , M.D.
    Braunwald, Nina , M.D.
    Brown, Dorothy, M.D. (restricted)
    Bruce, Nadine, M.D.
    Clark, Esther Bridgman, M.D.
    Conley, Frances, M.D.
    De Schweinitz, Louise, M.D.
    Docking, Leah Stevens
    Dolby, Karen, M.D.
    Dustan, Harriet, M.D.
    Fay, Marion, Ph.D.
    Gamble, Vanessa
    Hardy, Harriet, M.D.
    Haseltine, Florence, Ph.D., M.D.
    Heller, Fredericka
    Herman, Judith, M.D.
    Holmes, Grace, M.D.
    Howell, Mary, M.D.
    Jeffries, Rhonda, M.D.
    Karatinos, Gillian, M.D.
    Koeneke, Irene, M.D.
    Magee, Joni, M.D.
    McGrew, Elizabeth, M.D.
    Michaelson, Beryl, M.D.
    Morani, Alma Dea, M.D.
    Nichols, Victoria, M.D.
    Scholl, Catherine
    Scudder, Ida, M.D.
    Shainess, Natalie, M.D.
    Sirridge, Marjorie, M.D.
    Sirridge, Mary, Ph.D.
    Sirridge, Stephen, Ph.D.
    Soule, Jan, M.D.
    Spiegel, Ann, M.D.
    Spurlock, Jeanne, M.D.
    Steele, Paul
    Stitt, Pauline, M.D.
    Sturgis, Katharine, M.D.
    Thomas, Caroline Bedell , M.D.
    Wilson, Marjorie, M.D.

    Oral histories in the Black Women Physicians Project (Accession 178)

      Brown, Jayne Dickens Henderson, M.D., 1988
      Dickens, Helen Octavia, M.D., 1988
      Moorehead-Laurencin, Helen, M.D., 1989
      Gamble, Vanessa Northington, M.D., Ph.D., 1988

    Individual oral histories in the collection (This is a partial listing. Many collections not listed here may contain interviews; they are best located by searching by subject or name. Some oral histories are the sole item in a collection, others may be part of a larger collection of personal papers.):

      Aiken, Margaret, R.N., 87
      Cooper, Beaufort (Boots), M.D. 1992.16
      El Saadawi, N., M.D., 211
      Taber, Elsie, Ph.D., 155
      Togasaki, Yoshiye, M.D., 265
      White-Hammond, Gloria, 184

      The following tapes have no accession number. They are housed with the audio tapes boxed with tapes from Accession 265 and 1992.16.

      Boutte, Thelma Coffey, M.D., 1989
      Kirkpatrick, Dahlia, M.D., 1989
      Barnes, Janet, M.D., 1989
      Lain, Sarah, M.D., 1989

    Back to the Top

Drexel Links: Drexel Home . College of Medicine . Insitute for Women's Health & Leadership . Search
Archives Links: About . Collections . Donations . Fellowship

All rights reserved - Drexel University College of Medicine, Philadelphia, PA

shadow shadow shadow shadow shadow