Search:
Collections: Guide to the Women in Medicine Collections to Women in Medicine

COLLECTIONS

Digital Collections

W/MCP & Women in Medicine
- GUIDE to Collections
- Guide index
- Collection descriptions
- Finding Aids
- Subject Guides

- College Records
- Image and sound
- Alumnae/i Files
- Oral history

Hahnemann University and History of Homeopathy
- Finding aids

USAGE INFORMATION

Research information
Restricted Materials
Citing the Guide
Copyright
Predecessor institutions

The records of the Medical College of Pennsylvania are organized under the following headings. The headings link to further information and the related accession descriptions.


BOARD OF CORPORATORS
Board minutes, 1850-present   14 ln. ft.
Minutes of the Board, containing correspondence and reports from Board committees, faculty, students, and others; group of correspondence and resolutions, 1901-1902, concerning the relationship of WMC with the Woman's Hospital of Philadelphia.

Sarah Logan Wister Starr, President of the Board 1923-1941, [1931-1940], 43, 69

Executive Committee, 1876-1919, 1922-present    2 ln. ft.
Minutes, 1876-1919, 1922-present, with communications from faculty, students, and others. 

Francis, Vida Hunt, 268
McPherson, John W., 175
Sheppard, Walter Lee, 42

PRESIDENTS
Following is an incomplete list of Presidents the College, from its founding in 1850 to 1988, when the school began its affiliation with the Allegheny Health, Education and Research Foundation, or AHERF.

The names are followed by dates for which we have relevant materials and the accession numbers of the collections in which those materials can be located. Collections include scattered reports, minutes, correspondence, speeches, and other materials relating to presidential activities.

    1850 - William J. Mullen, [1850], 196, 401, 404
    1853 - Charles D. Cleveland
    1862 - T. Morris Perot
    1893 - Mary E. Mumford
    1913 - Emily Sargent Lewis
    1935 - Chevalier Jackson, M.D., 162, 268, 409
    1941 - Ellen C. Potter (Acting), [1903-1954], 5, 71, 73, 230, 40, 70, 122, 196
    1943 - Herbert F. Goodrich (Acting)
    1944 - Herbert F. Goodrich
    1946 - Louise Pearce, M.D., 283
    1951 - Burgess L. Gordon, M.D., [1951-1952], 196
    1957 --No listing
    1958 --No listing
    1959 - Marion Fay, Ph.D., [1942-1975], 5, 36, 70, 71, 90, 196, 275, 300, 1993.6
    1964 - Glen R. Leymaster, M.D., [1964-1970], 196, 275
    1970 - Marion Fay, Ph.D. (Acting) (see above)
    1971 - Bernard Sigel, M.D. (Acting)
    1974 - Robert J. Slater, M.D. , [1973-1974], 5, 196
    1976 - Jeanne D. Brugger, [1992] 1992.X.4.2
    1977 - Robert E. Cooke, M.D., [1977-1979], 196
    1979 - Maurice C. Clifford, M.D. (Acting) (see below)
    1980 - Maurice C. Clifford, M.D., [1979-1981], 278, 337, 398
    president-elect Irving Henry Leopold, [1970], 196
    1986 - D. Walter Cohen, D.D.S., [1987], 303

Back to the Top
Back to the Guide the the Collections

ADMINISTRATIVE DEPARTMENTS
Alumnae/i Relations 73, DAFs

Archives 120, 307, 390

Comptroller 293

Deans
Following is an incomplete list of Deans of the College, from its founding in 1850 to 1988, when the school began its affiliation with the Allegheny Health, Education and Research Foundation, or AHERF.

The names are followed by dates for which we have relevant materials and the accession numbers of the collections in which those materials can be located. Collections include reports, minutes, correspondence and speeches.

    1850 - James F.X. M'Closkey, M.D.
    1851 - N.R. Moseley, M.D., [1850-1856], 5, 147
    1852 - David J. Johnson, M.D.
    1855 - Ellwood Harvey, M.D., [1853 -1856], 5, 77
    1856 - Edwin Fussell, M.D., 5, 71, 77
    1866 - Ann Preston, M.D., [1855-1870], 2, 5, 17, 107, 5, 133, 291, 292, 298, 322
    1888 - Clara Marshall, M.D., [1891-1908], 17, 33, 292
    1917 - Martha Tracy, M.D., [1927-1940], 248, 5, 147 , 268
    1941 - Margaret D. Craighill, M.D., M.D., [1941-1943], 147
    1943 - Marion Fay, Ph.D. (Acting)
    1946 - Marion Fay, Ph.D.[1942-1975], 5, 36, 70, 71, 90, 196, 275, 300, 1993.6
    1964 - Glen R. Leymaster, M.D. 196, 275
    1969 - Bernard Sigel, M.D., [1970-1974], 5, 147
    1974 - Robert J. Slater, M.D. (Acting), 36, 196
    1975 - Alton I. Sutnick, M.D.[1967-1983], 5, 176, 183

Other collections related to Deans include:

    Associate Deans 229
    Statistics on student status, enrollment, and attrition from a 20 year survey, (1944-1963), of the WMC medical students who were 30 years or over when they matriculated.  6 in. 

ADMINISTRATIVE DEPARTMENTS (cont.)
Development and Public Affairs  180, 75 (fundraising)

Graduate Office 182

Public Relations 73, 78, 133

Registrar 266

Back to the Top
Back to the Guide the the Collections

MEDICAL STUDENTS

  • Deceased Alumnae/i Files (DAFs)
  • Registration Books  72
  • Student Association  72
  • Theses 1850-1888, 1926-1930  List of theses
  • Alumnae/i Association 72, 73
  • Executive Committee Minutes, [(1906-1918)-1951] 73
  • Graduate Council - Charter revisions, 1934; minutes and related correspondence and reports, 1914-1945.  2.5 in.  73

CLINICAL AND TEACHING DEPARTMENTS

Community and Preventive Medicine

    Judith Mausner, M.D., M.P.H., Associate Professor (Epidemiology)  232

Maternity

    Admissions book, 1910-1924; case books, 1923-1960; delivery;and operations brief book, 1910-1926; out-practice book, 1924-1933. 6 books  77

Operating Room

    Log book, 1937-1943, listing patient name, operation, surgeon, assistant, and anesthetist.  1 book 77

Pathology

  • Pathology Autopsy Reports 1933-38,1956-1963 143; 205
  • Museum Technique Instruction Book of Iseult V. Finlay, medical student, ca.1925. 2.5 in.  79
  • Surgical Pathology, [1922-1929], 1953-1957.       6 books    79
    Specimen case books, [1922-1929], listing patient name, result of study, and including some autopsy reports; surgical diagnosis casebooks, 1953-1957.
  • Uterine Cancer Cytology Research Project, RECORDS, [1957 - 1962].    3 ln. ft.    79

Back to the Top
Back to the Guide the the Collections

NURSING

  • School of Nursing 74
  • Nursing Alumnae/i Association - Scrapbook, 1966. 77



HOSPITALS

Broomall's Out-Practice and Maternity Hospital Clinic case books, 1890-1900, 1903.   9 books  77

Clinic of the Female Medical College of Pennsylvania, 1856-1858, 1854-1855.   1 book   77
Case books containing history and treatment for patients of Edwin Fussell, M.D., 1856-1858, Elwood Harvey, M.D., 1856, and Kersey G. Thomas, M.D.,

Hospital and Dispensary of the Alumnae of the Woman's Medical College of Pennsylvania (AKA the South-Eastern Dispensary for Women and Children, and renamed the Amy S. Barton Dispensary between 1904 - 1906.)

    Managing Board
    Minutes, 1895-1917, letterbooks, 1905-1917, of the Corresponding Secretary of the Board.  1.5 1n. ft.  77

    Clinic
    Case books, 1895-1900, includes some student lecture notes [1894-95]; printed annual reports, 1896-1904.  8 books  77
Back to the Top
Back to the Guide the the Collections

Hospital of the Medical College of Pennsylvania

Accessions 77, 181, and 207 all contain materials related to the Hospital. Specific holdings include these sub-divisions:

  • Annual Reports, [1937/38-1967/68].  203
  • Clinical Chiefs, 1967-1978
    Minutes of this ad hoc committee concerned with major decisions effecting the hospital.   1 book   181
  • Administrative Board
  • Minutes, 1942-1966, of the Board which was concerned with general policy issues and was comprised of Dean, Comptroller, a representative from the Medical Staff, and the Medical Director.   4 ln. ft.  181
  • Medical Board
    Minutes, 1942-1960,1962-1977, of the Medical Board which set medical policy and was headed by the Medical Director.   2.5 ln. ft.  181
  • Medical Staff
    General staff minutes, 1917-1932.  77
    Minutes, correspondence.  181
  • House Staff: newsletter, 1964-1977, of hospital residents.  6 in.  181
  • Associate Board of Managers: Minutes, 1919-1922, of the Associate Board, AKA the Junior Auxiliary.  1 book 
    NOTE: This collection is located off-site. Please see archivist for further information.

Back to the Top
Back to the Guide the the Collections

Drexel Links: Drexel Home . College of Medicine . Insitute for Women's Health & Leadership . Search
Archives Links: About . Collections . Donations . Fellowship

All rights reserved - Drexel University College of Medicine, Philadelphia, PA

shadow shadow shadow shadow shadow