Three-dimensional objects and textiles in the collection relate to women in medicine and Woman’s Med, and to Hahnemann University and homeopathy. Object types include surgical and other instruments, medicines, teaching tools, office furniture and equipment, missionary souvenirs and other subject-related items.

Learn More: 3-Dimensional Objects

The collection of files on alumnae/i of the Female Medical College of Pennsylvania, Woman's Medical College of Pennsylvania, and Medical College of Pennsylvania contain primary and secondary materials on many Medical College alumnae/i. Content spans graduates from 1850-1970.

Learn More: Alumnae Files

The Legacy Center maintains a book collection of rare, subject-specific, and reference books on the history of medicine, women in medicine, women’s health, and on early homeopathy medicine. All are non-circulating volumes and available for reading room use only. The women in medicine collection includes autobiographies, biographies, histories, reference works, and medical textbooks.

Learn More: Rare and Subject Relevant Books Research Guide

Anandabai Joshee, M.D., an 1886 graduate of Woman's Medical College of Pennsylvania, set precedents and broke barriers when she became the first high-caste Hindu woman to receive a medical degree.

Learn More: Anandabai Joshee

Twelve video oral history interviews with Woman's Medical College of Pennsylvania graduates, faculty and staff. Interviews were conducted in 2003 by Joanne Grossman and TJ Dixon.

Learn More: Oral History Collection

The Legacy Center’s photograph collections include over 30,000 images from the mid-1800s to the 1990s, illustrating Woman’s Medical College of Pennsylvania and Hahnemann Medical College students at work and play, physicians at work in offices, hospitals, and clinics domestically and abroad, portraits, and research images.

Learn More: Photograph Collection

This resource guide describes materials regarding women in medicine and their involvement in the suffrage movement and other forms of women's activism. The collections particularly reflect activity at the Woman's Medical College of Pennsylvania (WMCP).

Learn More: Suffrage Movement Research Guide

The Drexel University College of Medicine predecessor institutions underwent name changes, mergers, and bankruptcies. Find relevant records described in this collection.

Learn More: University Records

As in any profession in the 19th and early 20th centuries, women in medicine struggled for the right to formal education and recognition as professionals. In 1850, the first medical school that granted to degrees to women opened in Philadelphia under the name ‘Female Medical College of Pennsylvania.’ This collection contains photographs, newspaper clippings, and/or biographies of approximately 150 women homeopaths up to 1918.

Learn More: Women and Homeopathy